Disturbia (A short story)

He tossed and turned in his bed. Since the past 2 hours, Sameer was trying to sleep but the only thing he got was mosquito bites. 

He drank a glass of water. And one more. And another one. Was he really thirsty? He didn’t know. He reached out for a bag of chips. He put in his earphones and listened to some soothing music. Nothing was helping him.

4 hours passed. He felt weird. He felt afraid, guilty and fearful. Doesn’t God forgive His erring children? His mind was cluttered with good and bad thoughts and decisions. His mind was in disturbia. He finally stood up.

He picked up the phone and called up Kunal. “Hello?” said Kunal from the other side.

 “Hey Kunal, it’s me, Sameer. I kind of knew that you wouldn’t be asleep.” 

” Hey Sameer! No,I’m not. I’m too anxious and petrified to sleep. I don’t know how will I face dad, I haven’t told him yet. ” 

“You don’t have to tell him anything. I have something to confess. I know you’ll hate me and probably, never trust me again. I was the one who stole your money today, while you were out with our group during the recess. I wanted to buy some video games but dad didn’t agree to buy them since they were expensive. I’m really sorry. Please forgive me if you can.I’ll give you the money tomorrow, in school.” Before Kunal could reply, Sameer kept the phone. 

He entered his room, with a huge load off his chest. Within minutes, he was in deep sleep. 

Someone has rightly said-

There is no pillow softer than a clear conscience.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I nominated you for an award.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Niyati S says:

      That’s really sweet of you, thank you so much :):) I will check out your Blog post 🙂 Means a lot 🙂

      Like

  2. A beautiful story to bring home the point – There is no pillow softer than a clear conscience.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A wonderful story, Niyati.. Great Moral/Message!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

