Who would I invite for a Celebrity Dinner? 

After Aamir Khan’s episdoe on ‘Doctors’ in Satyameva Jayate, I’m sure some of you might wonder, why call doctors to be a part of a ‘Celebrity dinner?’ To you, my friend, I’d like to say two things-

1) Don’t generalise. Just because of 10 mischievous students in a class of 50, the entire class shouldn’t be tagged as ‘worst class ever!’ 

2) Before believing something blindly, sit back and think about it. Do your research, interact with people & experience the situation yourself. ‘Listening’ and ‘experiencing’ are two different things. 

Being a medico, I have come across some of the best doctors in their respective fields who are some of the most hardworking and inspiring human beings I’ve come across. They have studied numerous books,humongous in size, missed parties, devoted time for my patients with only one intention-to save a life. I strongly believe that ‘Medicine is for someone who cannot imagine doing anything else.’ And I’ve seen this burning passion for the subject amongst many of my classmates, seniors and teachers. 

Hence, with 6 chairs on the dining table, I would call the Surgeon. The surgeon who stands continuously for 12 hours, without a morsel , taking care of the smallest tissues and blood vessels in the body of the patient he operates on- only to enable him to see another rising sun.

I would call the Paediatrician, who may not have spent enough quality time with his own kids, who attends calls and visits at 3 am in the morning,  just to make sure that the child who has not been keeping well, returns in the best state of his/her health soon. He calms down the anxious parents, answers their innumerable questions and keeps their worries at bay. 

I would invite the Oncologist, who burns the midnight oil even at the age of 45, to read and learn about the new developments in the field of cancer therapy. Who sows the seeds of a new life, who brings a ray of hope in the life of someone battling with cancer. I know doctors who are actively participating in NGOs for cancer patients, dedicating their time and money, only because they are so passionate about their job and genuinely care for their patient’s well-being.

I would invite the Gynaecologist and Obstetrician, who takes care of women’s health, being a constant support in their times of having ill health. Someone who aids in bringing life on earth and ensuring safety of the mother at the same time. Someone who has blood and body fluids splattered over them, baggy eyes due to lack of sleep, but still a curve of smile on their face when their patient recovers.

And last but not the least, I would invite the humble General Practitioner, who becomes a part of everyone’s family, being a source of constant support for their patients. Someone who not only treats, but also guides and gives the right advice. If it wasn’t for him, we’d put our health in jeopardy. 

With five amazing doctors and human beings in their respective fields, I, a fresh medical intern, would quietly sit on the 6th chair, and listen. Listen to their stories and experiences. Listen to how they handled pressure and emerged winners. Listen to their achievements. Listen to their ups and downs. Listen to how they patiently and passionately studied for 10 years,practiced for some years more, to eventually become the only thing between the patient and the grave. Listen to the importance of each step and each decision in their lives. Listen to new advances in the field of medicine. Listen to how satiating it is to see their patients happy and recovering. And become the best doctor myself and heal as many people as I can. 

Yes, these celebrities save lives for a living. They are my heroes. I , from the bottom of my heart, pray that each one of you are gifted with the best health state. And if anything goes wrong, fret not, these superheroes will get in action .

This post was written in response to the following topic on IndiBlogger’s IndiSpire page-

If you had 6 chairs on your dining table, which celebrities would you invite to dinner and why? #CelebrityDinner

I hope you’ll are having an amazing day! Lots of love :*

Image Source: Pixabay . 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. rekhasahay says:

    Very interesting post Niyati 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Niyati S says:

      Thank you so much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anupriya says:

    Unexpectedly amazing!!! Loved the post! :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Niyati S says:

      Thank you so much 🙂

      Like

  3. matheikal says:

    That’s a good choice and with valid reasons too. Personally, docs scare me. Thank my stars, I haven’t had to depend on them much. When I did it was not a bad experience anyway. But when I think of some of my students who went on to become docs I feel scared 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Niyati S says:

      Hehe, many have the ‘Doctor phobia,’ it’s not something new we come across 😛 Thank you for appreciation 🙂 Your post on the same subject was AMAZING!

      Like

Leave a Reply

